REFRIGE-
RATORS

Experiments for the treatment of refrigerators and freezers

2014 until 2016

Since the ban of VFCs as blowing-agents in 1997, industry switched to VHC (mainly Isobutane and Cyclopentane), which has a 100-times lower global warming potential and zero ozone depletion potential. Today VHC-fridges represent more than 50% of end-of-life devices and VFCs are predicted to disappear completely by 2020 from this waste stream. However, the most striking advantage of VHC – the marginal environmental impact compared to other foam blowing agents – has not yet led to alternative treatment procedures; state of the art treatment still focuses on separating the VFC-gases.

In cooperation with a recycler of end-of-life appliances wpa carried out several field-scale batch experiments to improve an alternative treatment technology: the treatment of VHC-fridges only in open shredding systems. wpa was responsible for:
poster

  • Planning, improving and supervising the batch experiments
  • Sampling the fridges for the analytical detection of propellants
  • Capturing the in- and output streams
  • Analyzing the output-materials through sieving and sorting
  • Creating material- and energy balances
  • Assessing and discussing the results of the batch experiments

The study shows that the alternative treatment technology is advantageous concerning energy efficiency and emissions related to climate change. It uses use the relation between particle size of insulation foam in the shredded material and the VHC-binding within the foam-particles to capture more than 90% of contained VHC within the foam (“Foam Capturing”), which is later on used in thermal recovery.

 

poster-presentation at the Recy&DepoTech 2016
poster_Recy&DepoTech

KÜHLGERÄTE

Versuche zur Behandlung von Kühl- und Gefriergeräten

2014 – 2016

Der Anteil an VFC-haltigen Kühl- und Gefriergeräten in den Abfallströmen ist rückläufig und liegt derzeit nur noch bei 50 %. Schon 1997 erfolgte die Umstellung von Fluorkohlenwasserstoffen (VFC) auf Kohlenwasserstoffe (VHC) als Treib- und Isoliergase welche ein wesentlich geringeres Treibhauspotential (THP) aufweisen. Der aktuelle Stand der Technik bei den Behandlungsverfahren ist noch ausschließlich auf die technischen Anforderungen, die sich aus der Abtrennung der VFC-Gase ergeben, ausgelegt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit einem Altgeräte-Recyclingbetrieb führte die wpa mehrere praxisnahe Behandlungsversuche durch um den Optimierungsmöglichkeiten eines alternativen Behandlungsverfahrens nachzugehen. Untersucht wurde die Behandlung von ausschließlich VHC-geschäumten Kühl- und Gefriergeräten in einem offenen Shredder. Die Leistungen der wpa umfassten:

  • posterPlanung, Optimierung und Überwachung der Versuchsdurchführung
  • Beprobung der Kühlgeräte für den analytischen Treibmittelnachweis
  • Erfassung von In- und Outputströmen
  • Sieb- und Sortieranalysen des Outputmaterials
  • Aufstellung von Stoff- und Energiebilanzen
  • Bewertung und Diskussion der Versuchsergebnisse

Durch die Studie konnte ein Optimierungspotential für VHC-hältige Kühlgeräte in Hinblick auf Energieeffizienz und klimarelevante Emissionen aufgezeigt werden. Dabei wird der Zusammenhang zwischen der Stückigkeit des zerkleinerten Isolierschaums und der VHC-Bindung in den Schaumteilchen genutzt. Bei idealer Korngrößenverteilung des Outputs können mehr als 90 % des enthaltenen Treibmittels im Schaum gebunden und einer thermischen Verwertung zugeführt werden.

 

Poster-Präsentation bei der Recy&DepoTech 2016
Poster_Rey&DepoTech